50 Years of Innovative Patient Care

About a year ago, my uncle, in his mid-seventies, suffered a stroke. Growing up, I felt very close to him, even though he lived in Dallas and I lived in San Antonio. We’ve always had a special bond because we both love old books and poetry. When my mother called to tell me about his stroke I was shocked. Naïve and oblivious, I never thought something like that would happen to someone close to me. It’s a scary thing to have someone you love go through that. He now lives with a pacemaker and a new sense of his own mortality.

I am thankful every day for the surgeons and other professionals who dedicate their lives to treating and researching heart disease. It is thanks to them that procedures and devices have advanced to what they are today, allowing my uncle to survive. — Rebecca

P.S. If you’re interested in books about defibrillators, pacemakers, or other heart devices, we have a great selection, including the most recent Medical Device Register.

Medical Device Register - THI LibraryClinical Cardiac Pacing, Defibrillation, and Resynchronization Therapy - THI LibraryPacemakers ICDs - THI Library

This entry was posted in E-News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

